Major Bradford’s home built in 1675, is still standing and open to the public today. According to tradition, the Indians attempted to burn John’s house during King Philip’s War. The Major discovered the fire. He spied an Indian on Abrams Hill waving a blanket and shouting to his fellows, and shot him. But on approach, he could not find the body. After the war, the Indian met Bradford and showed him the scars of his wound. Major John Bradford died on Dec. 8, 1736, in Kingston, at the age of about 84, and was laid to rest in the Old Burying Ground at First Church in Kingston.
The Jones River Village Historical Society is located in the house. Be sure to visit our 1798 threshing barn. View our exhibit. Shop in our gift shop. Bid on unique progressive silent auction items. View the KIS 3rd grade artwork on display. Handicapped accessible restrooms are also available. Also, take a stroll through Mary’s Garden when you are visiting the Bradford Homestead.
There is a map available outlining the 4 quadrants which helps to identify different varieties of plants. The beauty of the garden changes every week.